Setting the Stage for Romance   Leave a comment

I spent a long time yesterday, trying to come up with ideas for a romantic evening.  My spouse is going to miss Valentine’s Day again because he’s out of the country on business, and we’ve both been saying for some time now how much we need a vacation.  Life seems very hectic and tiring, and there is not a lot of energy left at the end of the day for romance.  On short notice, there is not going to be a week’s vacation, but I thought I could at least put together a “quickie” for a little mental break from the routine.

After rejecting anywhere that would require 2 or 3 hours in the car to get there, I settled on an outing in downtown Minneapolis, only a half-hour’s drive away.  I looked through all the hotel listings for the downtown area and finally made reservations at The Depot Hotel, ordering up their Romance Package for our Saturday arrival.  The Romance Package includes champagne, breakfast for two Sunday morning, and a late check-out time on Sunday of 2:00 PM. 

Then I had to decide on dinner.  I thought it would be nice to check out one of our local seafood restaurants and made reservations at McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant in downtown Minneapolis on Nicollet Mall.   We’ve never been there, nor have we been to The Depot Hotel, so it’ll be an adventure all the way around.

I wonder if my husband has read his emails at work today that he has a “hot date” for Saturday night!  (I hope that all the conditions come together properly for a “hot date” on Saturday night.  After 37 years together, the romance part gets a bit dicey at times!)

Oh, and by the way, February 2 — the day of our intended “hot date” — is an important date in our relational history.  On that day in history in 1971, his steady girlfriend, Stacie, broke up with Dale, leaving the door wide open for him to call me on the phone later that week and ask if we could spend some time together Saturday evening.  I said yes.  I’ve said yes to a lot of things with him since then!

Posted January 29, 2008 by StPaulieGrrl in marriage

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

