Sir Thomas Snot 1951-2008   Leave a comment

It’s been a rollercoaster of a day so far.  Today is the 4th anniversary of my 49th birthday.  (Yes, in other words, I’m 53 years old today and don’t feel a day older than 76.)  I was late for work this morning after falling back to sleep this morning and sleeping solidly through Tom Bernard’s blather on KQRS for another half-hour.

Once I got to work, things were a bit better.  I was greeted by Happy Birthday balloons, a little bouquet of flowers, gifts of chocolate and a book, and cards.  It was all very festive and makes me look forward to coming to work on my birthday.  This is at the other end of the spectrum from not liking my birthday because of the few (if non-existent) remembrances I used to get from my own family (like my mother, even.)  Things are better now because I have Dale’s family and I have many good friends who know how to make me feel special.

I took my coffee break at 9:00 and had a bit of a nosedive.  Both the Pioneer Press and the Twin Cities StarTribune ran the obituary today of Joe Kudla, a well-known Minnesotan whose claim to fame was his character, Sir Thomas Snot.  He played opposite Sir Ralph Puke, played by Mark Sieve.  Together they formed the team Puke & Snot who performed for decades at the Minnesota Renaissance Festival, along with touring festivals nationwide and training other Puke & Snot comedy teams.  They were a very popular act at the Renaissance Festival every year.

We’ve been acquainted with both Joe Kudla and Mark Sieve since the late 1970s when they were both involved with productions at Theatre In The Round, a theatre where Dale began volunteering his time and efforts quite extensively until his job demands made it impractical to continue by the late 1980s.  Joe was a warm, talented man, as is Mark.  Joe will be very, very missed, and I’m shocked and saddened at this news.

One never knows what the day will bring.  Today it’s a mix of flowers, chocolates and the sudden, unexpected passing of a good man who brought laughter into the hearts of many.

 

“He was a man, take him for all and all, we shall not look upon his like again”

– William Shakespeare, Hamlet

Posted August 12, 2008 by StPaulieGrrl in Daily Life, Minnesota

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

