A Handful of Purr   3 comments

cat
more animals

There is nothing that makes my heart melt more completely than a “handful of purr.” I remember holding my first kitten to me, a 10-week-old whom I finally named Mandy after a couple of days of trying on different names. This was in 1976, and we had finally gotten our first apartment after three years of marriage that would allow us to have a cat. We brought this kitten back to the apartment in Minnesota before the moving van had even arrived from Indiana with our furniture. Claiming my devotion was all sewed up after she crawled into the sleeping bag with me that first night and purred next to my heart. She was the third member of our family for the next 18 1/2 years, until her death in 1994.

These lovely creatures! I love them so!

Posted August 21, 2008 by StPaulieGrrl in cats

3 responses to “A Handful of Purr

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Awww… That looks just like my son’s first kitten!

    Sweet story about Mandy!

    I feel another cat post coming on now. 🙂

  2. Awww, sweetums. How lovely!

  3. I should have added another paragraph to this post. This “handful of purr” also reminds me of my current “kittens,” the ones who came into my life as the stray offspring of a feral mother. (I talk about them on my Feline Family page.) I’ve always called them my “kittens from God” because they came into my life during the last few months of Mandy’s life. Under other circumstances, I never would have adopted another kitten right away; I was too heartbroken to even care. But these stray, feral kittens, in need of a home, were placed right on my doorstep by Karma, and I took them in. Katie and Bubba are now 14-years-old and are true delights in my life.

    I look at this photo and I think, “Here. Here is your kitten from God. Take it to your heart and love it.”

Leave a Reply

