Brief Update   2 comments

My husband and I returned home from a six-day trip to Texas around 9:30 last night.  As the previous post mentioned, we were in Texas this past week, staying with some dear friends in San Antonio.  In fact, a handful of years back, I asked my friend’s elderly mother who lives down the street from them if she would be my adoptive mother.  She was honored and pleased to include me as one of her daughters, and that conferred the status of “sisters” on my friend and me.  I spent a wonderful week with our friends, and it was really one of the best Thanksgivings I’ve ever had. 

Some of the other highlights include:

Enjoying a Family ThanksgivingWe had two basic trainees spend Thanksgiving Day with us from Lackland Air Force Base as part of Operation Home Cooking, now in its 33rd year.  Adam and Brad, two men in their early 20s, were so grateful to be in someone’s home, enjoying the family atmosphere, relaxing to watch a football game, eating excellent home cooking with a fine bunch of people.  They expressed their gratitude so many times!  It made Thanksgiving something extra special for us this year.

I finally met in person on this trip a woman whom I have known through email and blogging since this past summer.  Dale and I took her, her 11-year-old son, and her son’s friend to the San Antonio Zoo on Friday and had a very nice outing together.  My friend doesn’t own a car and finances have been very tight.  Therefore, she and her son do not enjoy many outings like this for entertainment.  The lad was so excited to spend the day at the zoo and took it all in with such enthusiasm.  It was good for all of us because I got to spend an enjoyable afternoon getting to know my friend better, and her son and his friend had a great time as well.  I left them around 5:30 that afternoon with my heart feeling very full with the pleasure of seeing other people happy.  (Thank you, my friend, for making me a very happy woman, and I, too, hope that this is just the beginning of a long and rewarding friendship!)

I had not one, not two, but THREE Mexican breakfasts on this trip at one of my favorite joints, Taco Haven.  My gawd, that is good eating!  I had died and gone to heaven.  (That reminds me of a joke having to do with bran flakes, but I’ll save that for another post.)

Best Breakfasts Ever!

Best Breakfasts Ever!

I briefly thought that I was going to have my husband home for the entire month of December instead of in Atlanta for three out of four weeks.  He received an email from his boss Monday morning that he was to cancel all business travel for the rest of the year, a cost-savings measure no doubt.  The folks at the plant in McDonough, Georgia were to take over the completion of the project that is in full-swing right now.  Over the next couple of days, his cell phone rang more than I have ever heard it ring with questions and issues from various people about this project.  One Big Dog over the McDonough plant was in a particular uproar that Dale wasn’t going to be in Georgia overseeing this project in December.  As we had anticipated, by Friday, a new email from Dale’s boss had been issued, saying that he was to continue his participation in the McDonough project but keep travel to a minimum.  This means now that he is making one two-week trip (which spans a weekend) instead of one two-week trip, home for three days, and then back to Georgia for another four days.  A minor improvement for us.  (I chant daily, “I will remain flexible at all times, flexible at all times!”)

So, I will sign off for now and fill in the gaps on some things later, I hope.  I’m just trying to get reacclimated and reorganized today to being home and having to resume the usual workday stuff tomorrow.

2 responses to “Brief Update

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds like you had a great time. So did we! 😉

  2. We’re already talking about a repeat performance next Thanksgiving. Only another 50 or so weeks to go!

Leave a Reply

