Full Measure of Happiness   5 comments

President and Mrs. Barack Obama

President and Mrs. Barack Obama

…Today I say to you that the challenges we face are real. They are serious and they are many. They will not be met easily or in a short span of time. But know this, America β€” they will be met.

On this day, we gather because we have chosen hope over fear, unity of purpose over conflict and discord.

On this day, we come to proclaim an end to the petty grievances and false promises, the recriminations and worn out dogmas, that for far too long have strangled our politics.

We remain a young nation, but in the words of Scripture, the time has come to set aside childish things. The time has come to reaffirm our enduring spirit; to choose our better history; to carry forward that precious gift, that noble idea, passed on from generation to generation: the God-given promise that all are equal, all are free and all deserve a chance to pursue their full measure of happiness…

There is hope in my heart today. I share this hope with many of my fellow Americans as we witnessed the 44th President of our United States sworn into office on this momentous day in our nation’s history. (Yes, I cried, like I haven’t cried in a long awhile!)

May he have the commitment and the support of the citizens of this country. May he and his family be safe from harm as they serve as our First Family.

Posted January 20, 2009 by StPaulieGrrl in Daily Life

Tagged with , ,

5 responses to “Full Measure of Happiness

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I wish him much success ,and he and his family safety from harm. I have been crying too. I stayed up until 4AM to watch the inauguration. I am exhausted but happy!

  2. Same here. I’m filled with joy and hope. And I cried.

    Right after President Obama’s address, my little buddy said, “You know, Mom, it feels like we’re living in a brand new world.”

    Then I cried again.

    Cheers, Bonnie! πŸ˜€

  3. It was a joyful day yesterday but an exhausting day. I can only imagine how the Obamas must have felt after such a long, exciting day followed by the appearance at 10 Inaugural balls! And President Obama has to get up this morning and go to work! πŸ˜‰

  4. I didn’t vote for him, but he has my full support. We have too many critical issues to resolve for us to go right back to partisan bickering. We have to work together to get through this.

  5. Exactly, Bryan.

Leave a Reply

