From the Dalai Lama   4 comments

Words of Inspiration Today from the Dalai Lama:

(for my benefit but others may benefit from them as well.)

ONE GREAT QUESTION underlies our experience, whether we think about it consciously or not: What is the purpose of life?…

I believe that the purpose of life is to be happy. From the moment of birth, every human being wants happiness and does not want suffering. Neither social conditioning nor education nor ideology affect this. From the very core of our being, we simply desire contentment. I don’t know whether the universe, with its countless galaxies, stars and planets, has a deeper meaning or not, but at the very least, it is clear that we humans who live on this earth face the task of making a happy life for ourselves. Therefore, it is important to discover what will bring about the greatest degree of happiness.

…It is possible to divide every kind of happiness and suffering into two main categories: mental and physical. Of the two, it is the mind that exerts the greatest influence on most of us. Unless we are either gravely ill or deprived of basic necessities, our physical condition plays a secondary role in life. If the body is content, we virtually ignore it. The mind, however, registers every event, no matter how small. Hence we should devote our most serious efforts to bringing about mental peace.

…I have found that the greatest degree of inner tranquility comes from the development of love and compassion.

The more we care for the happiness of others, the greater our own sense of well-being becomes. Cultivating a close, warm-hearted feeling for others automatically puts the mind at ease. This helps remove whatever fears or insecurities we may have and gives us the strength to cope with any obstacles we encounter. It is the ultimate source of success in life.

As long as we live in this world we are bound to encounter problems. If, at such times, we lose hope and become discouraged, we diminish our ability to face difficulties. If, on the other hand, we remember that it is not just ourselves but every one who has to undergo suffering, this more realistic perspective will increase our determination and capacity to overcome troubles. Indeed, with this attitude, each new obstacle can be seen as yet another valuable opportunity to improve our mind!

Thus we can strive gradually to become more compassionate, that is we can develop both genuine sympathy for others’ suffering and the will to help remove their pain. As a result, our own serenity and inner strength will increase…

Recently, my husband and I have gone that extra mile for a couple of people who are in need of assistance and support. Our efforts have been met with many “wows” by those who have learned of this.

Why “wow?” If a person is in need and you help them, they are in a better place. If you help someone and you feel good about it, you are in a better place for having done it. Why then would a person not do this if they are able to? I have to agree with the Dalai Lama that this is what life is all about and what gives it purpose.

 

Posted January 28, 2009 by StPaulieGrrl in Mental Health, Relationships, spirituality

Tagged with ,

4 responses to “From the Dalai Lama

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is very touching. While I understand exactly what you’re saying, I can also understand the “wows”. I don’t know a lot of people would do what you’re doing. In fact, I honestly don’t know any, personally.

    You and your husband are very special people, and I cherish your friendship.

  2. Lottie, both Hubby and I are in complete agreement that extending our home, our family, and our friendship to you and John is a no-brainer. We have the space, we have the resources, and we love you and John. It really is a win-win situation for everyone, and there is absolutely no reason not to do this.

    I’m no saint, though. I’m a long way from being a truly enlightened human being. When I can offer such things to a total stranger, or indeed, to someone I don’t even LIKE, then I’ll have achieved a degree of noble compassion.

    But I like you and John, so this is the easy stuff, believe me. 😉

  3. We love you both too, and we’re looking forward to spending time there.

    I’ve been packing all day and I’m pooped. More tomorrow…

    (((hugs)))

  4. Hi Bonnie,

    I’ve been reading through your blog, reflecting on the early days of our friendship. I felt so fortunate then, and even more so now, because I’ve had you in my life longer at this point.

    Thanks to you and Dale, I have my life back, and it’s better than it’s ever been. I will never be able to repay all the support you have offered over the past year and a half, but I will go to my grave (urn, or whatever :-p ) trying.

    I am always here for you, Bonnie. I won’t hesitate a single moment to do anything you may need me to do. ((hugs))

    Love always,
    Lottie

Leave a Reply

