The Double Nickel   1 comment

funny pictures of cats with captions
see more Lolcats and funny pictures

It is my birthday today. Somehow, I’ve arrived at the “double nickel”. Age 55. I spend way too much time thinking about how many years have gone by and what do I have to show for them, etc. I spend a lot of time thinking about what the aging years will have in store and who will sit me out in that snowbank during temperatures of 25-below if I develop Alzheimer’s Disease and become a burden to myself, my loved ones, and society. I need to quit thinking about the numbers and take the days as they come. However, this philosophy, should I have any future success in adhering to it, will NOT prevent me from taking advantage of those Senior Citizen discounts that begin at some establishments at age 55. I’m all for that!

Posted August 12, 2010 by StPaulieGrrl in Aging, Baby Boomers

Tagged with , ,

One response to “The Double Nickel

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I spend a lot of time thinking about what the aging years will have in store and who will sit me out in that snowbank during temperatures of 25-below if I develop Alzheimer’s Disease and become a burden to myself, my loved ones, and society.

    If things should ever come to this, I will be right there, doing all the things I promised I would. (If the tables are turned, please don’t let me grow a beard! 😯 )

    That said, I’m glad to hear that you’re taking each day as it comes ( ::sings:: get on that bad motor scooter and riiiide 😀 ) and taking advantage of discounts and any other benefit you having coming. You’ve given so much to so many people, and you deserve far more than you may ever receive in return.

    ((hugs))

Leave a Reply

