Cleverly Disguised

There is a t-shirt out there that states, “Cleverly Disguised as a Responsible Adult.” I think I need that t-shirt, and not just because Halloween is fast approaching and I don’t have a costume. Even though I’m 55-years-old now and have lived long enough to know better, there are times when my 4-year-old inside jumps out and runs the show. “I bit her because he/she bit me first,” is not a good reason for biting someone or whatever the retaliatory action may be.

Hmmm, come to think of it, though, when I was 3 or 4-years-old, I was a biter.  I’m ashamed to admit this, but I was a little preschool biter.  I have no idea why kids do this.  I don’t to this day understand why I did it — just a frustrated, aggressive little brat, I guess.  I bit a neighbor girl once who was about my age.  She ran home, crying.  Of course, she did.  I had put some pretty sturdy teeth  marks in her forearm!  Her angry mother came back with her tearful 4-year-old in tow and confronted my mother with my awful behavior.  The mothers agreed that my friend should bite me back.  She did, with great fervor!  It hurt like hell, and then there were two 4-year-olds bawling.  Did I quit biting my playmates?  Yes, as a matter of fact, I did.  That was the last time I ever bit any of my friends.   Getting in return what I had dished out did seem to work in this instance.

However, I’m not four-years-old anymore and there are more constructive ways to deal with life’s problems and conflicts than biting someone back because he/she bit me.  Time to put on my big girl panties and deal with life as an adult and not a retaliatory 4-year-old.

Go to your room, Little 4-year-old Girl, and let the grown-up drive the bus now.

